Mattie121’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

JB 4520 kept its cool February 15, 2009

Filed under: #jb4520,Uncategorized — mattie121 @ 7:59 pm
Tags:

When I was driving to class this past Tuesday, I heard on the radio that Edmond was being hit by a tornado. I thought to myself surely it won’t be that bad here in Stillwater. As I got out of my car and walked to the JB building I knew a storm would hit shortly but still I believed it would be a tiny thunderstorm, nothing to be alarmed about. So imagine my surprise when sitting in class trying to pay attention to Bill, when I got a text message from my roommate telling me she was taking cover in our sorority house. Not only was the hail beginning to hit the window rapidly but  the tornado sirens started going off. Thats when we, as a class, decided to move into the center of the JB building. Now while most people who live outside tornado alley would be hyperventilating and freaking out at this point. My class was texting friends, updating their facebook status or just laughing about how they almost didn’t come to class today. Despite the warnings the TV was giving, people still crowded around the two different doorways, myself included. I saw a couple of people running from building to building as though the SEVERE storm was something to go play in. Looking back now, I can’t help but laugh at mine and my fellow students’ reactions. Any tornado should be taken seriously. But instead, all of us were more worried about our car damages or whether the Colvin would be closed later on that night. Call us crazy, but I’m proud that no one panicked. In fact, judging by the atmosphere, a person would never suspect that a damaging storm was taking place just outside the building. So to conclude, I give props to JB4520 for staying calm and making our “storm shelter” an enjoyable place to be.

 

Leave a Reply

